Sous-vide Steak (medium-rare?) and it’s a wrap!

Exactly the same process as previous Sous-vide Steak (medium-well) attempt but this time 3 hours at 59°C.  Though I am unable to produce appetising food photos… maybe I should take cooking and/or photography lessons.

A firm, well textured exterior that has a delightfully full flavour, cutting into it reveals the tender and juicy interior.  Unfortunately slightly too rare for my liking, but nonetheless exceptionally prepared medium-rare steak given the minimal effort involved.

Anyway, that concludes USB-controlled temperature regulated Forebrain-powered sous-vide Mini-fridge.  It is time to turn to running a business…

Information about the Forebrain dev board: http://www.universalair.co.uk/forebrain


If anyone’s interested in the code, let me know.


2 Comments on “Sous-vide Steak (medium-rare?) and it’s a wrap!”

  1. Cameron Pope says:

    I’ve found that food photos generally look the best when (a) they are close up and (b) the food is on a white plate. I would use a white plate, a tripod, and no flash. I bet doing that will make a world of difference.


Leave a comment